top of page


Updated: Nov 15, 2023

Since his international debut in the summer of 2020/21 Devon Conway has made a statement on the international stage with a range of stellar performances for the Blackcaps. None more emphatic that his Test debut double century at Lords last June – incidentally the tour that kicked off the recent Players’ Cap voting period.

The flurry at the end of the NZ home summer clashed with the IPL this year, which meant the traditional post season The Players’ Cap presentation was delayed until the presentation within the team hotel in Leeds yesterday, where Conway was named as the recipient of 11th edition of The Players’ Cap.

The players’ own aggregate voting format was once again fiercely contested this year with a host of players in line to receive this highly regarded honour. Conway’s impact across the Test format in particular saw him edge out Test captain Tom Latham, two-times Player’s Cap recipient Tim Southee and international newbie Will Young.

Blackcaps assistant coach and NZCPA life member Luke Ronchi had the honour of presenting The Players’ Cap to his fellow wicket-keeper and batsman.

Ronchi explained “ this is such a special award to receive as your team-mates have recognised your contribution for the greater good of the group even down to the small things you do that go to win games.

“Devon has contributed outstandingly over the past year, he has been one of those guys who since being named in the Blackcaps has come in and taken his chances from day one. I know he just missed out to Kyle (Jamieson) last year so great to see him pick up the Players’ Cap this time around.”

Conway had another outstanding season wearing the black cap, in particular against Bangladesh at home in the new year where he scored consecutive Test centuries (122 & 109) to be named player of the series.

Having recently recovered from a bout of covid the left-handed batsmen was humbled by the award stating “it’s been a really special time since getting the call up to the team. This is such a great group to belong to and I just want to thank everyone for making me feel so welcome and such a sense of belonging.

“To be recognised by your team-mates, your peers, your friends with The Players’ Cap is truly an honour and a privilege. There have been some incredible men who have won this before me and be in such esteemed company is incredible.”

The 2022 cap is the 11th edition of The Players' Capand once again the player voted award highlighted the contribution’s made from many players across all formats. Devon Conway led the player votes in Tests just ahead of Tom Latham as the leading player in the players’ favoured format. In white ball cricket it was Will Young whose performances over the Netherlands ODI series saw him surge with a late rally to the overall voting tally, and Martin Guptill topped the T20i format.

Supporting Information

The Players’ Cap leading vote recipients per format were:

  • Test Devon Conway

  • ODI Will Young

  • T20i Martin Guptill

The Players’ Cap leading vote recipients from each series during 2021/22 were:

  • England / ICC Test Champ Devon Conway, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee,

Tom Latham (tied)

  • Bangladesh tour Ajaz Patel

  • India tour Tim Southee

  • ICC T20 World Cup Jimmy Neesham

  • Bangladesh in NZ Devon Conway

  • South Africa in NZ Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry (tied)

  • Netherlands in NZ Will Young

About the Players’ Awards

To find out more about The Players’ Cap click here

The PLAYERS’ Cap Recipients:

2022: 11th - Devon Conway

2021: 10th - Kyle Jamieson

2020: 9th - Tim Southee

2019: 8th - Ross Taylor

2018: 7th - Trent Boult

2017: 6th - Kane Williamson

2016: 5th - Kane Williamson

2015: 4th - Kane Williamson

2014: 3rd - Ross Taylor

2013: 2nd - Tim Southee

2012: 1st - Brendon McCullum



Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page